Review on Art of Dying: Let the Fire Burn…

I’ll start of by saying that I’m really not a huge fan of Acoustic albums. It’s just how I am. And Art of Dying has released an acoustic album entitled “Let The Fire Burn”. However, since I enjoyed “Acoustic Gypsy Live”, an acoustic set of L.A. Guns classic, I’ll try to do as well as I did on Vices and Virtues (their previous album).
Some Art of Dying songs reappear from their two previous tracks: “Get Thru This” (The bands anthem song after “Die Trying”), I Will Be There, Completely, and of course, Sorry. Ultimately, every song has been giving an acoustic twist, ultimately trying to prove that they sound just as good unplugged, something most bands have either greatly succeeded or miserably failed at. So how did AOD do?
For guys who like to head bang, they’ll probably throw it in the trash, so luckily I’m not one of those guys. Fortunately, I’m not one of those idiots who reviewed Path of Totality…
A a bit of a word of encouragement to the band; try not to put the same songs on every album. The songs ARE great, even unplugged, and it is good that you guys decided to add some newer hits, but four of your earlier tracks resurfaced again. Some might say “I heard that already,” but at least the core principle still applies: You guys are good at keeping your sounds more natural.
One good thing in this album is the apparent skill of “lyrical irony” represented in your songs. That “Come As You Are” effect repeating itself in songs like “Go Your Own Way”, “Say What You Need To Say”, and “God for a Day”. Meanwhile, other songs mirror the elements that were shown in earlier songs like “I Will Be There” and “Best I Can”, similar to bands like Poison and White Lion, but more second degree than generalized. In “Out Of Body”, they sounded like they stepped out of their usual formula and attempted a more eerie narrative technique, similar to the song “Car Crash” on the debut album.
No offense, but Completely didn’t really fit into this album. That’s like taking AC/DC to MTV to do an unplugged album. Granted this is their most rewritten song, but if your going to revamp a song into an acoustic track, I would’ve picked something less oriented for hard metal elements like “Best I Can” or “Fist of Clarity”. Although it wasn’t an utter failure (far from it). Lyricism was heavily exercised emphasized in this album, as mentioned above, and it shows signs of maturity. Thank you Art of Dying for not resorting to senseless lyrics like most mainstream bands. However, the relationship theme is overused just slightly, even though it is subliminal. Being theme oriented is something proven in this album, just not as much as Vices and Virtues (simply because the latter had more songs).
I was told on my Vices and Virtues review (where I analyzed each song adequately to keep skeptics away) that ‘It’s exciting to catch a band on the way up’, and this album has confirmed the million dollar question: How good ARE these guys? I wasn’t impressed with the fact that one of their songs was featured on WWE (because WWE only takes songs they think are CATCHY, making the “Smells Like Teen Spirit” mistake again), I mean, that’s easy. But by playing acoustic (the natural way) really shows skill. I watched (on YouTube) Jimmy Page play “White Summer”. Cool right? But without the distortion effects and “bow”, what can he do? He’s proved that, and now Art of Dying has. They’re aren’t just random Canadian guys who got lucky with catchy melodies: They don’t use that talent as a crutch. They can ACTUALLY PLAY! AND they can actually sing something with special literary technique, and not crappy (I’m sorry, catchy) semi-lyrics like most mainstream musicians (Get your own examples).

*I’ve yet to hear a Three Days Grace acoustic album*

Since I called the last album the “New Nevermind”, I guess this could be the “Unplugged in New York”…

One thought on “Review on Art of Dying: Let the Fire Burn…

  1. Good stuff Dwight, glad you liked the album man.

    Let The Fire Burn was actually recorded live off the floor in the summer of 2008, before Vices and Virtues came out. Also, it doesn’t feature the current line-up, Cale and Tavis aren’t playing on these tracks.

    If you want some more info on it, check out my post here:
    http://buff.ly/JqtA7w

    and more info here too:
    http://buff.ly/Pw0xkj

    Cheers!
    Brian
    Thorny Bleeder Records

Leave a Reply

