Heart Impaled: Review on 14 Track LP…

Why aren’t these guys multi-platinum? They should move to Japan. The industry’s faster there…

About a month ago, I was blown away by a track listing for the January Complex. Literally- I was blown away! I fell off my chair headbanging. That master work was more electronic oriented, fused with Industrial workmanship and heavy metal riffs. But if you get me hooked on one album, I better OD on the next. Now, I think I’ll write this review in a trauma-unit, so I can resuscitate dead people with this EPIC GOD-MODE music!

Hearing this, I thought the opening sentence above. This is truly a work of art. The ultimate blend of electronic music and the ultimate hardcore metal styles. It’s like when Bruce Lee married different fighting styles in the seventies, but with music! It’s as if two polar styles can coexist with the merging of music and technology!

The vocals sound like a cross of Jeff Becerra, Spider One, Jonathan Davis and Mustaine all in one! It’s truly amazing that someone could carry this on through a long play. The drumming style is never the same on any track, lending methods of power and speed drumming. The lyrics sound like a crossover of Doom and Trash and Death; a polygamous intertwine. The track Avil sounds like the voice of American Hardcore Chris Van Dahl. I swear to God, I could assault this album with the pro sound they’ve achieved. The guitars are just as brilliant; like Judas Priest meets Spineshank. The solo work of the fourth and fifth track (Pinions and Locust) are mesmerizing for the average metal head, igniting a racing pulse (no wonder they call it heart impaled).
Here’s what’s interesting; the music is so heavy and guitar/electro oriented, and yet you hear the bassist clearly. Through track 4 to 7, he sounds like a ravaging Steve Harris, and then John Entwistle all the way through. I love the keyboard work on Mantichords (The Awakening)… That was unexpected but proved that these guys don’t just shred like maniacs (not that they’re anything wrong with that).

This album is going straight to my listening devices!!! I’d pay for three houses worth to have this!

However, being as unbiased as a jury member, I can’t give this a full five. The output is incredible, but electronic fusion must always be confronted with the winning question: Can it sound good live. It’s sounds contrary, but hey; we learned our lesson with DragonForce, and EVERY modern pop star from Lady Gaga to Katy Perry. If I can see clear quality live footage, then they’ll be top quality for sure!

This is still amazing work! Well polished! Very intriguing, and satiable for people of every walk of musical taste! Poetic! Complex!

Leave a Reply

